TrainerRoad vs Xert
What each vendor publishes about editorial scores, price, sports and features, side by side. Checked Nov 3, 2026. Scores are editorial (see methodology). Public facts come from vendor pages.
The differences in short
- Xert has the lower published price: $8.33/month against $17.50/month for TrainerRoad (lowest published rate; may need yearly billing).
- TrainerRoad states triathlon; Xert does not say so on the pages we checked.
- Xert states data platform; TrainerRoad does not say so on the pages we checked.
- TrainerRoad states sport: running; Xert does not say so on the pages we checked.
- TrainerRoad states sport: triathlon; Xert does not say so on the pages we checked.
- TrainerRoad states sport: swimming; Xert does not say so on the pages we checked.
Side by side
| Fact | TrainerRoad | Xert |
|---|---|---|
| Editorial overall | 8.2/10 (editorial) | 8.0/10 (editorial) |
| Coaching quality | 8.8 | 8 |
| Adaptivity | 8.5 | 9 |
| Integrations | 8 | 7.5 |
| Value | 7.5 | 8 |
| Ease of use | 7.5 | 6 |
| Type | AI coach | AI coach |
| Starts at | $21.99/mo ($17.50/mo yearly) | $14.99/mo ($8.33/mo yearly) |
| Billing | Subscription | Subscription |
| Free plan | Free trial | Free trial |
| Sports | cycling, triathlon, running, swimming | cycling |
| Platforms | web, windows, macos, ios, android | web, ios, android |
| Integrations | zwift, indoor-trainers, garmin, wahoo | zwift, garmin, wahoo, strava |
| Cycling | Yes | Yes |
| Triathlon | Yes | Not stated |
| AI coaching | Yes | Yes |
| Indoor training | Yes | Yes |
| Data platform | Not stated | Yes |
| AI coach | Yes | Yes |
| Checked | Nov 3, 2026 | Nov 3, 2026 |
| Website | Visit TrainerRoad | Visit Xert |
Overall and sub-scores are editorial. Methodology.
Summaries
TrainerRoad: Power-based cycling training with adaptive TrainerRoad AI plans; triathlon plans include run and swim. Workouts can run inside Zwift.
Xert: Adaptive cycling training based on Breakthroughs and MPA modeling; integrates with Zwift for indoor workouts.
Frequently asked questions
What is the difference between TrainerRoad and Xert?
Xert has the lower published price: $8.33/month against $17.50/month for TrainerRoad (lowest published rate; may need yearly billing). TrainerRoad states triathlon; Xert does not say so on the pages we checked. Xert states data platform; TrainerRoad does not say so on the pages we checked. TrainerRoad states sport: running; Xert does not say so on the pages we checked.
How much do TrainerRoad and Xert cost?
TrainerRoad publishes $17.50/month; Xert publishes $8.33/month. Figures are the lowest published monthly rates (checked Nov 3, 2026); confirm on each vendor page before you buy.
Do TrainerRoad or Xert have a free plan?
TrainerRoad: Free trial. Xert: Free trial. Labels come from each vendor's pricing page (checked Nov 3, 2026).
Which features do TrainerRoad and Xert state?
TrainerRoad states: Cycling, Triathlon, AI coaching, Indoor training, AI coach, Sport: running, Sport: cycling, Sport: triathlon. Xert states: Cycling, AI coaching, Indoor training, Data platform, AI coach, Sport: cycling.
Keep comparing
Why this comparison exists: people search for it ("TrainerRoad vs Xert" appears in Google's suggestions; about 20 US searches a month). Spotted an error? Send a correction.