BestTrainingApps BestTrainingApps
All apps Compare

TrainerRoad vs Zwift

What each vendor publishes about editorial scores, price, sports and features, side by side. Checked Nov 3, 2026. Scores are editorial (see methodology). Public facts come from vendor pages.

Visit TrainerRoadVisit Zwift

The differences in short

Side by side

FactTrainerRoadZwift
Editorial overall8.2/10 (editorial)7.3/10 (editorial)
Coaching quality8.86.5
Adaptivity8.57
Integrations88.5
Value7.57
Ease of use7.58.5
TypeAI coachIndoor training
Starts at$21.99/mo ($17.50/mo yearly)$19.99/mo ($16.67/mo yearly)
BillingSubscriptionSubscription
Free planFree trialFree trial
Sportscycling, triathlon, running, swimmingcycling, running
Platformsweb, windows, macos, ios, androidwindows, macos, ios, android, apple-tv, iphone
Integrationszwift, indoor-trainers, garmin, wahoowahoo, kickr, garmin, strava, trainerroad
RunningNot statedYes
CyclingYesYes
TriathlonYesNot stated
AI coachingYesNot stated
Indoor trainingYesYes
AI coachYesNot stated
CheckedNov 3, 2026Nov 3, 2026
WebsiteVisit TrainerRoadVisit Zwift

Overall and sub-scores are editorial. Methodology.

Summaries

TrainerRoad: Power-based cycling training with adaptive TrainerRoad AI plans; triathlon plans include run and swim. Workouts can run inside Zwift.

Zwift: Virtual world for indoor cycling and running with group rides, racing, and training plans. Zwift Plus adds AI Coach and video routes (~$10/mo upcharge).

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between TrainerRoad and Zwift?

They are different kinds of tool: TrainerRoad is listed as ai coach, Zwift as indoor training. Zwift has the lower published price: $16.67/month against $17.50/month for TrainerRoad (lowest published rate; may need yearly billing). Zwift states running; TrainerRoad does not say so on the pages we checked. TrainerRoad states triathlon; Zwift does not say so on the pages we checked.

How much do TrainerRoad and Zwift cost?

TrainerRoad publishes $17.50/month; Zwift publishes $16.67/month. Figures are the lowest published monthly rates (checked Nov 3, 2026); confirm on each vendor page before you buy.

Do TrainerRoad or Zwift have a free plan?

TrainerRoad: Free trial. Zwift: Free trial. Labels come from each vendor's pricing page (checked Nov 3, 2026).

Which features do TrainerRoad and Zwift state?

TrainerRoad states: Cycling, Triathlon, AI coaching, Indoor training, AI coach, Sport: running, Sport: cycling, Sport: triathlon. Zwift states: Running, Cycling, Indoor training, Sport: running, Sport: cycling.

Keep comparing

Why this comparison exists: people search for it ("TrainerRoad vs Zwift" appears in Google's suggestions; about 50 US searches a month). Spotted an error? Send a correction.

Monthly: price and plan changes across endurance training apps, new AI coaches and product launches. Free, unsubscribe anytime.